Home > fatherhood > Paying homage to the Bus…

Paying homage to the Bus…

I wrote in a prior post about my son’s fascination with things that go. While the truck, train, motorcycle, fire engine, and airplane have all been featured guests in this fascination, the mainstay is the bus. I have no idea why.

We have this book by Richard Scarry in which each page is dedicated to a different setting or concept and there are pictures and words common to the setting. It’s a large book with 50+ pages, but we typically only focus on two. One page is a city scene that includes a bus, and another page is dedicated to various vehicles and has a school bus on it. On a typical night at bedtime we flip back and fourth between these two pages only, focusing on the buses each time.

For the fourth of July we went to the celebration at the next town over from us. They had a festival with live music, games, a BMX bike show, and plenty of other things leading up to a fireworks display. My son loves live music and that held his attention for a while…until we found the bus. There was a bus company that was trying to promote the rental of their luxury buses, and they had one that they were letting people come aboard and tour. My son saw the bus and ran over to it. We went aboard and he found a seat right in the front and sat…and sat…and sat. Still and content as I’ve ever seen him, calmly saying the word “bus” to himself every now and then. He didn’t even care to go check out the cool stuff in the back of the bus, like the TV, kitchenette, bedroom area, etc. He just wanted to sit on the bus. So while all the other people at the park were enjoying picnic dinners, live music, games, etc, my son and I were sitting on a bus going nowhere.

Whenever we are in the car, the quality of the ride is determined by how many buses we see. Sometimes we don’t see any, and he complains to me, as if I have the magic ability to make one appear for him. The best time ever was on Monday when I picked him up from day care and we saw three buses go by before we even left the parking lot.

Then of course there is his favorite song, “the wheels on the bus”. He loves to sing this while playing with his toy school bus, or on a car ride after seeing a bus out the window. Thanks to the era we live in, there are also multiple versions of the song on animated youtube videos that can be played on my iphone at any time. I have several versions saved on my duckytube app, usually differentiated by what color the bus is. There are several versions with yellow and red buses, and this snazzy little number with a blue bus, where the baby on the bus doesn’t just go “wah wah wah” but also flails himself all over the middle of the aisle. However, the leader in the clubhouse is the one with the green bus, which is not just a song but also a love story in which the bus ends up falling for a hot little red sportscar at the end. I’m sure they lived happily ever after.

Categories: fatherhood
  1. September 21, 2012 at 8:04 pm

    Great post. Reminds me of when my son was little. Now that he takes the bus every day for school, the magic has disappeared. Firetrucks, however…

  2. atothewr
    September 22, 2012 at 4:52 am

    Nice post. It really gets me excited to visit this part of his life once he grows up to it.

  3. September 26, 2012 at 9:36 am

    Great post. Their interests are so intriguing at this age. My son’s fascination is with garbage trucks. He can wile away an entire day watching videos of garbage trucks on YouTube. I can’t wait for the day when I can tell him to play garbage man for the family!

  4. October 18, 2012 at 10:13 am

    Enjoyed reading this post. My son is 19 months old so I definitely feel you. We live super close to the Amtrack and MTS Trolley that runs right through our neighborhood. As you can imagine, the kid just loves trains.

    • October 18, 2012 at 9:30 pm

      im pretty sure my son wouldn’t be able to handle living so close to a train station. either that, or he’d drive us crazy about wanting to go see the trains all the time. thanks for reading/commenting.

  1. October 20, 2012 at 10:06 pm

Leave a Reply

