Home > fatherhood > Guys with Kids – on NBC

Guys with Kids – on NBC

So of course as a fatherhood blogger, I felt an obligation to watch and write about this show.  I don’t typically watch sitcoms these days, so the first notable moments of this show to me were that it has Vanessa from the Cosby Show (Tempest Bledsoe), and Anthony Anderson, the guy who played Teddy on some Saturday morning basketball-themed show with Reggie Theus whose name escapes me right now.  So far there was the pilot and the first episode. Both shows can be watched online by clicking the links provided.

The pilot was more along the lines of what I was expecting – within the first couple of minutes, one of the characters runs into a big dilemma because his baby drinks whole milk and the bar they are hanging out at only has two percent and he doesn’t know what to do.  Mixed into this “crisis” is the idea that his ex-wife and child’s mother would be upset if he tried to give the kid two percent milk.  The rest of the episode is about his date with someone he meets at the bar and how to juggle the babysitting issue, and we learn about the three dads/moms and their parenting and family situations.  We also see them as dads and how they are with their kids.  There’s also weird cameo by Kareem Abdul Jabbar that doesn’t really make sense to me.

The first actual episode which aired last night was less about the guys as fathers and more about each of their relationships.  I had figured that the show would be mostly like the pilot and was surprised that the “dad” aspect was downplayed in this episode.  The father-related shenanigans that were in the pilot were not as present in this episode.  As my wife explained to me, this show’s target audience is women, so they need to play up the relationship aspect of the three guys to have storylines to build off of.

One of the things I planned to touch on is the portrayal of the fathers.  Early into watching the pilot, I realized that this show is a sitcom and kind of silly, so we can’t expect anything too realistic and nor should we.  I don’t really have as much to say about it as I assumed I would when I first found out about this series.  I may watch another episode or two of the show but after seeing the pilot and first episode, I don’t think that this is a show that I will catch onto watching in the long run.

Categories: fatherhood Tags:
  1. courtacute
    October 1, 2012 at 6:55 am

    I think you are giving them an easy out by saying, “It’s a sitcom and kind of silly, so we can’t expect anything too realistic and nor should we.” Sitcoms (situational comedy) shouldn’t have lowered expectations because of the medium. A show like Everybody Hates Chris was both funny while tackling the real issues of poverty, crime and racism. It was silly but heartfelt. I see no reason a show about fatherhood can’t tackle the trials of raising a child, of which their are many, in a smart, humorous, endearing way.

    • October 1, 2012 at 9:09 am

      fair point…let me elaborate on what i was thinking. you’re right, there are sitcoms out there that I used to watch when I was a kid that did a good job with the fatherhood thing. the classic example is the cosbys, but the one i’ll use is full house and bob saget’s character. so maybe it’s not the sitcom thing in general, but rather *this* show in particular I didn’t expect it from because of how they’ve presented it thus far in commercials, etc.

  2. October 3, 2012 at 8:21 am

    I am thankful someone has touched on both this show and this topic I have watched maybe half an episode and possibly just in passing because it was on the tv, but you both make valid points, the show has an almost irresponsible slight moronic feel to me but I want to be fair since I have not seen a full episode so maybe I will watch at least two shows before jumping in full swing with my comments. Perhaps this is my feeling based on the multitude of shows that give views of moronic fathers, they may in fact be comical but they are also demeaning to fathers, shows like The Simpsons , Family Guy , American Dad. These shows are created as animation or cartoon format to appeal to younger audiences, and children as well as your 30-40 year old groups of people. However a far cry from old school shows way back when that many may not be familiar with but look them up shows like father knows best/ leave it to beaver / my three sons, The courtship of Eddie’s Father ( Bill Bixby started as a single father / The Rifleman / Bonanza …. Those were pretty good fathers .

  3. October 9, 2012 at 2:09 pm

    Hi JT! I wrote my review about a week ago at my blog (fathersworkandfamily.com). I really disliked the show (but looooved the Kareem cameo- maybe because I’m a bit older than you, I think). I definately wouldn’t let sit-coms off the hook for not also being smart or insightful. Many great sitcoms- Cosby, Roseanne, All in the Family, Up All Night, Parks & Rec, etc etc etc manage to both be really funny and be true to, or illuminate, what’s going on in the bigger picture.

    • October 9, 2012 at 4:26 pm

      Yeah, I agree…as I said in my reply to courtacute, I wish I hadn’t generalized the whole sitcom genre but rather talked about how *this* one was presented.

      And my comments about Kareem were nothing against him…I’m a Celtics fan so of course growing up we didn’t like him but I respect him and loved his movie “On the Shoulders of Giants”. My comments about his cameo in this show just relate to how absurd I thought it was that some 20-something woman would have a date with 60-something year old Kareem. I did like the part where the guys were trying to have him “dunk” the babies and the mothers were saying no. My wife and I had a similar conversation about that, before we had kids, but same type of premise, when we were at a concert and someone let rapper Rakim hold their baby during his set.

  4. October 18, 2012 at 10:23 am

    I stumbled upon this show via Hulu + and I think it is hilarious. I’m not much of a tv watcher but this show is one I’m going to keep up.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

